Forme logo


Some key dates of the Euroregion

  • 1983
    Creation of the Working Community of the Pyrenees which combines: Aquitaine, Languedoc-Roussillon and Midi-Pyrénées, Catalonia, Aragon, Euskadi, Navarra and Andorra.
  • 1989
    A common fund is created in 1989, aimed at financing cross-border projects. This is accompanied by an agreement that marks the start of the bilateral cooperation between Aquitaine and Euskadi. In 1992, Navarra joins the partnership, generating a common trilateral fund until 1999.
  • 2004
    Creation of a tool with its own legal personality: The PLAE (Aquitaine-Euskadi Logistics Platform) in the form of European Economic Interest Grouping (EEIG) with headquarters in San Sebastian.
  • 2006
    Regulation (EC) no. 1082/2006 creating the European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation (EGTC).
  • 2009
    Joint declaration of the two presidents to create a Euroregion “Aquitaine-Euskadi” under the form of a European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation (EGTC).
  • 2011
    Creation of the Euroregion Aquitaine-Euskadi with headquarters in Hendaye.
  • 2014
    Adoption of the 2014-2020 Euroregional Strategy.
  • 2015
    Modification of the administrative perimeter of the French regions. Aquitaine, Limousin and Poitou-Charentes legally constitute Nouvelle-Aquitaine, thus forming part of the Euroregion.
  • 2016
    Adhesion of Navarra, approved on 18 March 2016 by the Assembly of the Euroregion Aquitaine-Euskadi, which enters into force on 6 March 2017.
  • 2018
    Updating of the 2014-2020 strategic plan.

Le mot de la semaine

Drapeau eu Mila
Drapeau fr Bienvenue
Drapeau es Mil
Comment l'utiliser ?